Dr. Dre Announces ‘Compton’ Album, Talks ‘Detox’, Eazy-E’s Death & Biopic

After a long wait, Dr.Dre‘s latest album, Compton:A Soundtrack, is expected to be released this Friday (August 7th) via Apple Music and iTunes. Originally, the record was scheduled to drop this week but was delayed, regardless Compton is dropping just in time for when the ‘Straight Outta Compton’ movie hits theaters, August 14th.

Dr. Dre has been M.I.A since his 1999’s The Chronic: 2001 but finally his silence has been broken.

No Detox: Dr. Dre’s Next Album Won’t Be “Detox”

Recently, Dr.Dre hosted a Beat 1 show titled, “The Pharmacy,” which will premiere tonight. The two hour show includes Ice Cube and the director from ‘Straight Outta Compton’,  F. Gary Gray. Good thing for us that Apple has made the entire show available for streaming on iTunes, just click here to view it.

Also the hiphop veteran held an interview with Big Boy to announce his upcoming album a few months back. Dre talked about a number of things,  the filming process of ‘Straight Outta Compton’ and even why the Detox album never happened.

This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say, the reason that Detox didn’t come out was because I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good. I’ma keep it all the way 1000 with you, I mean seriously, I worked my ass off on it, but I didn’t think I did a good enough job. I couldn’t do that to my fans, I couldn’t do that to myself to be honest.”

However, when Dre discussed the NWA biopic some shocking feelings he had when the idea was first thrown out there. First off, Dre wasn’t really for the movie, mostly because he feels that the story couldn’t have any mistakes.

“I was just nervous about putting a blemish on our legacy. The story had to be told right. And it’s incredible, man. I’m really excited about it. We had our ups and downs with the filming process, but now the edit is almost done. We’re working on music and what have you, and I think everybody’s going to appreciate it, especially everybody from Los Angeles.”

Dr. Dre, Macklemore, Iggy Azalea & Drake Completed The Ice Bucket Challenge, Eminem Is Up Next

In the end it was Ice Cube who convinced him to to through with the movie and even got the entire script together.

“I didn’t even want to do the movie. Cube actually quarterbacked it. He went out and got the first draft for the script done. I read it and was like, ‘OK, we can work with this. We can turn this into something. And when [director F.] Gary Gray got on board, that was it. I was in.”

He also discussed the difficulties of watching someone else portray his friend, Eazy-E, after his death .”We wanted to be as authentic as possible,” he said “Jason Mitchell, he plays Eazy and he did an incredible job. I mean, there’s a couple of times where I got a little emotional on set.” Dre even mentioned how him and E made amends before his passing.

“I was so fortunate to be able to get on the phone with him and talk about maybe putting N.W.A back together, and we chopped it up about old times and what have you and maybe not even two weeks after that, he was in the hospital. So the last time I actually saw him, he didn’t know I was in the room. He was on life support. I just reached down and whispered a few words in his ear and I think maybe the next day or two he passed away. We had a chance to rekindle it and actually get back in the studio again.”

Be sure to watch the entire video, above. to catch more of what was said between the two.

Compton: A Soundtrack is also available on pre order here, so make sure you get your copy. Take a peek at the album artwork and the track list below but don’t forget to stay tuned for ‘Straight Outta Compton’ to hit theaters next week.

compton a soundtrack

1) Intro
2) Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus)
3) Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)
4) It’s All On Me (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)
5) All In a Day’s Work (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)
6) Darkside/Gone (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)
7) Loose Cannons (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um)
8) Issues (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)
9) Deep Water (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus)
10) Jon Connor – One Shot One Kill (feat. Snoop Dogg)
11) The Game – Just Another Day (feat. Asia Bryant)
12) For the Love of Money (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor)
13) Satisfaction (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)
14) Animals (feat. Anderson Paak)
15) Medicine Man (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)
16) Talking To My Diary